Association

Cancers in people with intellectual disabilities are as common as in the general population, but they are different and not well known. The management of cancers in people with intellectual disabilities requires specific knowledge and useful references.

Context

Cancers are as common in people with intellectual disabilities as in the general population. In France, between 100,000 and 400,000 people with intellectual disabilities develop cancer in their lifetime, and 7,000 new cases are expected annually.

  •  Cancers in people with intellectual disabilities differ in frequency, age of onset, symptoms, sometimes microscopic appearance and difficulties in diagnosis and treatment. All these differences require specific management. 
  • Cancers in People with intellectual disabilities need to be supported to increase their understanding and adherence to treatment. Oncology teams need to be supported in their approach to this population. 
  • There is no dedicated structure in France or internationally that deals with cancers in people with intellectual disabilities from a therapeutic or scientific point of view, apart from very few specialised teams (e.g. leukaemia in Down’s syndrome).in people with intellectual disabilities are not well known to professionals in the field of intellectual disabilities and to cancer teams.

The data concerning this pathology is very numerous and very scattered. Scientifically, tumours in people with intellectual disabilities raise important questions and offer new approaches to understanding cancers.

Missions

History

2002

The idea of the Oncodefi project

Dr Bernard Azéma, psychiatrist, Pr Stéphane Culine, medical oncologist, and Dr Daniel Satgé, anatomo-pathologist, met Pr Jean-Bernard Dubois, oncologist, radiotherapist, to develop a project for the care of people with intellectual disabilities integrated into the Centre for the Fight against Cancer.

2002

2008

Interministerial mission

Dr Satgé was commissioned by Mr Gohet, interministerial delegate for the disabled, to assess the state of cancer care for people with intellectual disabilities.

2008

2009

Creation of the Association

Mr Patrick Gohet organised a meeting with representatives of the Directorate-General for Health, the Directorate-General for Healthcare, geneticists, researchers and Professor Jean-Bernard Dubois, Director of the Val d’Aurelle Centre. The project to found an association was validated.

2009

2019

Cancer Prize of the Academy of Medicine

The association has carried out more than 60 awareness campaigns in Occitania and has helped some twenty establishments in their treatment of cancer.
2019

2020

The ISCAO Interventions

  The association, through its Isaco device composed of two nurses, has carried out more than 60 awareness-raising campaigns in Occitania and has helped some twenty establishments in their management of cancer.

2020

A words from the president

Among the population with intellectual disabilities, the incidence of cancer is identical to that observed in the general population.

Among people with intellectual disabilities who have cancer, there is a significant increase in delays in diagnosis and a reduction in the acceptance of treatment, which is often followed in a degraded mode, resulting in a loss of chances due not to the cancer itself but to the intellectual disability.

The objectives of the Oncodéfi association are therefore

To promote the conditions for early diagnosis, screening and appropriate treatment.

To create a database in a documentation resource centre bringing together all the epidemiological, biological and clinical knowledge to help with fundamental and clinical research into cancers in people with intellectual disabilities.

Oncodéfi, a centre for information, documentation and permanent cognitive monitoring, must play a decisive role as an alerting body and a vector of opinions in association with other national and international networks.

Professor Jean Bernard Dubois

Discover the Oncodefi team

Partners and supporters

Help the association Oncodéfi

All donations are important, big or small, and will improve the treatment of cancer in people with intellectual disabilities.

Journées nationales Oncodéfi

21-22 Octobre 2021 à Montpellier

Organisées par l’association Oncodéfi, en lien avec le Centre de Lutte contre le Cancer ICM Val d’Aurelle de Montpellier. Elles font suite au grand intérêt porté aux cancers chez les personnes déficientes intellectuelles lors du dernier symposium international en 2018.

Association

Les cancers des personnes déficientes intellectuelles sont aussi fréquents que dans la population générale mais différents et mal connus. La prise en charge des cancers chez les personnes déficientes intellectuelles nécessite des connaissances spécifiques et des références utiles.

Contexte

Les cancers sont aussi fréquents chez les personnes déficientes intellectuelles que dans la population générale. En France, entre 100.000 et 400.000 personnes déficientes intellectuelles développent un cancer au cours de leur vie, et 7.000 nouveaux cas annuels sont attendus.

  • Les cancers des personnes déficientes intellectuelles diffèrent par leur fréquence, l’âge de survenue, les symptômes, parfois leur aspect au microscope et par les difficultés de diagnostic et de traitement qu’ils soulèvent. Toutes ces différences nécessitent une prise en charge spécifique.
  • Les cancers des personnes déficientes intellectuelles sont mal connus, des professionnels de la déficience intellectuelle et des équipes de cancérologie.
    Les données concernant cette pathologie sont très nombreuses et très dispersées. Sur le plan scientifique, les tumeurs des personnes déficientes intellectuelles soulèvent d’importantes questions et offrent des approches nouvelles pour comprendre les cancers.
  •  Les personnes déficientes intellectuelles ont besoin d’être aidées pour renforcer leur compréhension et leur adhésion au traitement. Les équipes oncologiques doivent l’être aussi dans leur approche de ce public.
  • Il n’existe, en France et à l’international, aucune structure dédiée abordant globalement les cancers chez les personnes déficientes intellectuelles sur le plan thérapeutique ou scientifique, en dehors de très rares équipes spécialisées (leucémies de la trisomie 21 par exemple).

Les missions

Histoire

2002

L’idée du projet Oncodefi

Le Dr Bernard Azéma psychiatre, le Pr Stéphane Culine oncologue médical et le Dr Daniel Satgé anatomo-pathologiste ont rencontré le Pr Jean-Bernard Dubois, oncologue, radiothérapeute, pour développer un projet de prise en charge des personnes déficientes intellectuelles intégré dans le Centre de Lutte contre le Cancer.

2002

2008

Mission interministérielle

Le Dr Satgé est missionné par Mr Gohet délégué interministériel aux personnes handicapées pour évaluer le bilan de la prise en charge des cancers chez les personnes déficientes intellectuelles.

2008

2012

Création de l’Association

Mr Patrick Gohet a organisé une rencontre avec les représentants de la direction générale de la santé, de la direction générale de l’offre de soins, des généticiens, des chercheurs et le Pr Jean-Bernard Dubois directeur du Centre Val d’Aurelle. le projet de fonder une association est validé

2012

2019

Prix Cancer de l’Académie de médecine

L’association a réalisé plus de 60 sensibilisations en Occitanie et à accompagner une vingtaine établissements dans leur prise en charge d’un cancer.

2019

2019

Les Interventions d’ISCAO

 L’association a créé le dispositif Isaco composé de deux infirmières  afin de sensibiliser et  accompagner des établissements dans leur prise en charge d’un cancer.

2019

Le mot du président

Parmi la population en situation de déficience intellectuelle, l’incidence des cancers est identique à celle observée dans la population globale.

Chez les déficients intellectuels porteurs de cancers on note une augmentation significative des retards au diagnostic et une réduction de l’acceptation des traitements souvent suivis en mode dégradé, d’où des pertes de chances dues non pas au cancer lui-même mais à la déficience intellectuelle.

Les objectifs de l’association Oncodéfi sont donc :

  • De favoriser les conditions d’un diagnostic précoce, d’un dépistage et d’un traitement adapté.
  • De réaliser une base de données dans un centre ressources de documentation réunissant toutes les connaissances épidémiologiques, biologiques, cliniques pour l’aide à la recherche fondamentale et clinique sur les cancers chez les déficients intellectuels.

Oncodéfi centre d’information, de documentation, de veille cognitive permanente doit jouer un rôle déterminant de lanceur d’alerte, de vecteur d’opinions en association avec d’autres réseaux nationaux ou internationaux.

 

Professeur Jean Bernard Dubois

Oncologue, radiothérapeute & Directeur honoraire du Centre de Lutte contre le Cancer Val d’Aurelle de Montpellier

Professeur Jean Bernard Dubois

Découvrez l'équipe Oncodéfi

Partenaires et soutiens

Aider l’association Oncodéfi

Tous les dons ont leur importance petit ou grand cela améliorera la prise en charge des cancers chez les personnes déficientes intellectuelles.